Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Amendment 79 provides up to a $350 tax credit on your principal place of residence and limits how much the assessed value can increase.
There are 3 ways to apply for the homestead credit, they are as follows:
Assessed value is 20% of value, not all property is at 20% due to limitations set by Amendment 79. If real estate is not at 20% of the value, the increase will be 5%, 10% or no increase. (New construction, newly discovered, change in use or substantial improvement does not qualify for limitation it will be assessed at 20% of its value.)
No, once you qualify for the credit it will remain on the property as long as it remains your principle place of residence. If the status changes it is the responsibility of the property owner to notify the Assessor’s office of the change.
No, the owner must fill out a homestead application.
No, real estate is automatically assessed each year. It is the responsibility of the property owner to notify the Assessor of all changes made to the real estate. If you remove, add or the use changes (residential changed to commercial), you are required to give the information to the Assessor.
Garland County is completing a 5-year reappraisal, all property has been revalued for 2017. The next reappraisal will be completed in 2022.
The deadline is May 31 of each year.
Yes, Personal property and Business Personal Property must be declared by May 31 each year, if the assessment is declared after May 31 a 10% penalty is added to the assessment which shall reflect on your tax bill the following year.
Every tangible thing being the subject of ownership, and not forming a part of any parcel of real property.Examples of personal property:
Every tangible thing being the subject of ownership, and not forming a part of any parcel of real property.
All assets owned by the business such as:
No, you assess personal property in the county you live in. However, personal property is assessed where it resides. If you have personal property that resides in a different county, you would declare it in that county.
Yes, however if it’s your first time to assess in Garland County you are are required to assess in person. Thereafter you can assess online, by phone at 501-622-3730 or in person at the Assessor's Office, located at:
200 WoodbineRoom 123Hot Springs, AR 71901
Yes, but the first time you assess the business you are required to assess in person. Visit our website to assess online.
CourtConnect is a portal to public case information for courts using the ACS Contexte Case Management System. This portal allows you to find public information on cases if you know the name of a person on the case, or if you know the Case ID.
Currently you may find information on cases from Arkansas Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, from the Circuit Courts in every county in Arkansas and from the District Courts in the following areas:
CourtConnect provides access to basic information about the case including:
Some courts report statistical information by paper cover sheets to the Administrative Office of the Courts. For these paper-reporting courts, currently you may find limited information on cases such as:
CourtConnect also links to case images for some public court records so you can see the actual documents filed on the case. Some information in court cases is not considered public information under Arkansas Supreme Court Administrative Order 19, and will not be available on the Internet.
Please contact the Supreme Court Clerk’s office at 501-682-6849. To contact the Court of Appeals please contact the Supreme Court Clerk’s office at 501-682-6849,
NO overnight camping.
The climbing wall is opened up by reservation only.
An app called MTB Project provides some great maps of many of the trails in Arkansas including Cedar Glades. Most of the time you can find one in the Kiosk at the park.
Acceptable forms of payment are cash, or money order.
To obtain a marriage license, both individuals will need to be present, with their drivers licenses and sixty dollars ($60) cash.
If one or more of the individuals are under the age of 18, please call the County Clerk's office for additional required documentation.
To perform wedding ceremonies in Arkansas, you must register your Minister's Credentials within a County Clerk's office located in Arkansas. The fee to register credentials in Garland County is $5.
The County Clerk's office is located at the Garland County Courthouse, 501 Ouachita Ave, on the First Floor, Room 103.
Individuals, who are at least 18 years of age, may register in person or by mailing a completed Voter Registration form to our office.
The County Clerk's office does not issue Apostille or Certification. The Arkansas Secretary of State's office provides this service.
To obtain an Apostille or Certification from the Arkansas Secretary of State, please visit their office Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The office is located at:Victory Building1401 West Capitol Building Number 250Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-5070 or 501-682-3409
Please visit the Arkansas Secretary of State Website for additional information on Apostille or Certification.
The County Clerk's Office does not offer Notary Services.
There are numerous resources available for information regarding preparation for disaster events, however, you may call our office at 501-767-3911 and we will put you in touch with the correct agency.
First thing is safety and if you need immediate emergency services call 911. If you need assistance after the event contact our office at 501-767-3911 and we will direct you to the correct agency.
You may download the Address Application (PDF) form from our website, or come by our office at 401 Mid-America Boulevard, Hot Springs. For more information, please call Emergency Management at 501-767-3911.
Yes. Garland County Addressing Ordinance 0-16-16 of May 9, 2016, requires that all homes, businesses, shops, boat docks, and other inhabited structures, must display their address conspicuously above, on, or at the side of the proper door, and must be visible from the street or roadway. For more information, please call Emergency Management at 501-767-3911.
Areas of Garland County that are subject to flooding during a major rain event, in which the capacity of creeks, streams, rivers, or lakes are overrun, are considered Special Flood Hazard Areas, as determined by FEMA. For more information, please call Emergency Management at 501-767-3911.
You may check you address online at FEMA and enter your address for a determination, or contact the office of the Garland County Floodplain Administrator at 501-767-3911.
If any portion of your land parcel falls within an area designated as a Special Flood Hazard Area, you must apply for a Floodplain Permit to develop/build, per Garland County Ordinance 0-09-58 of December 15, 2009. For more information, please call Emergency Management at 501-767-3911.
No. It is completely optional, but if you wish to pay all or any portion of the voluntary tax, please make the notation on your tax bill.
Yes. State law requires personal property to be paid before or at the same time as real estate.
Checks should be made payable to Rebecca Dodd Talbert, Tax Collector.
Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Taxes are calculated by multiplying the “taxable value” times the millage rate of the school district you live in.
Taxes are due March 1st payable by October 15th. If the 15th falls on Saturday or Sunday, they are due the next business day.
Yes. The law allows us to accept partial payments on current taxes of any amount at any time from the time you receive your bill and October 15th. Partial payments are not accepted on delinquent taxes.
Visit the Garland County Tax Search website to get a copy of your receipt.
You must change your address in the Tax Collector’s office by calling 501-622-3710 and in the Assessor’s office by calling 501-622-3730.
We have the registrations forms available in the office and online. If the home is owner-occupied, we will need the Owner Services Form (PDF) submitted. If you don’t own the home, there are other forms to choose from.
County Ordinance 0-02-48 (PDF) requires the solid waste service at all livable residences in the County. Access the Ordinances.
The cart needs to be placed at the end of your driveway, near the road. Place cart 2 feet from the road. Leave at least 3 feet between your cart and any mailboxes, utility poles, vehicles, etc. Place cart out no later than 6 a.m. on your service day and pull away from roadway as soon as possible. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
If your service day falls on Thanksgiving, Christmas, or New Years Day, your service will be the next day. No other service days will be affected during the week of the holiday. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
Our inclement weather policy is to pick up as soon as the roads are safe. For more information, please call our office at 501-622-3658, or our contractor Town and Country Sanitation at 501-760-2298.
The rate is currently $16.50 per month per trash cart plus taxes. New accounts will have a one-time Set-up Fee of $15.00 per cart plus taxes. New customers are charged a $30.00 Deposit. This is a flat-rate service fee and not based on your use of the service. We send out statements once every three months (April, July, October, and January for the previous three months of service). For more information, please call our office at 501-622-3658.
We offer an annual discount. When you receive your first bill of the year (Jan-Mar charges mailed out in April), you can choose to pay for the whole year and receive a 10% discount. Discount does not apply to taxes. Payment must be received in the office by the May 5th of each year. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
We accept credit/debit cards online. Checks, money orders, cashier’s checks can be mailed to the office. Our office accepts all payment methods on current accounts. You can also pay your bill by phone at 1-888-647-8925. Delinquent accounts must be paid by guaranteed funds. Automatic Bank Draft is also available on a quarterly or annual basis. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
You need to contact our office and fill out the Cancellation Form (PDF) to close your account and stop charges, regardless if you own or rent. The trash cart will need to be picked up and must be accessible to County employees. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
We only accept household trash. You must place your trash in your own container and it’s illegal to use a cart that belongs to someone else. You can’t place any burned items or yard waste in the cart. All items must fit in the cart. If it sticks out of the cart or prevents the cart from closing, we will not empty it. Recyclable materials such as plastics and cardboard can be taken to one of our Recycling Stations. Please call the Landfill at 501-623-8243 and ask for Recycling information. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
We will continue to pick up your trash to ensure its proper disposal. However, if you are delinquent with the Solid Waste Office, you will be unable to pay your Property Taxes according to County Ordinance 0-01-14. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
The owner of the property has the option to pay the bill or transfer the responsibility to the occupant, regardless of rental status. We have registration forms for Rentals (PDF) and Lease-to-Buy (PDF). For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
All owners are responsible for helping our office bill the correct person. If the home is occupied by someone other than the owner, you and the occupant will need to complete and submit the Landlord Notification Form (PDF). If you are selling under contract, you and the buyer can complete and submit the Contract Sale Form (PDF). All non-resident property owners need to submit a Landlord Agreement (PDF). This form has the information regarding your responsibility as a property owner. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-622-3658.
Please view the Recycle Center Brochure (PDF). For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-623-8243.
See the commercial Rental brochure (PDF). For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-623-8243.
We do not take paint. For more information, please call Environmental Services at 501-623-8243.
The amount of your payments, and when it is due, should be listed in your paperwork from court. If it is not, we can set your plan up for you.
No. Once the money is put on an inmate's books, we have to have the inmates signature on the receipt when it is taken off.
It is required that we issue a check for all money released by the .
Monday after Noon, Tuesday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
It is on your paperwork that you have previously signed in court. If you don't have it, we can look it up for you.
No. Tickets must be paid in District Court.
No. You must call District Court to find out your ticket amount.
Yes. We collect commissary money during regular office hours (7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.). After hours, the Detention Center will accept your deposit. We also have a kiosk set up in the Detention Center Lobby that will accept credit/debit card deposits for the inmates.
No. However, you will need to bring fingerprint cards with you.
We accept money orders or cash.
Landlord tenant agreements are civil by nature. We are not allowed to get involved in any civil matter without an Order from a Judge of Jurisdiction. If a tenant has been lawfully served with a Notice to Quit, and has not moved within the required time limits, we will issue the tenant a citation for Failure to Vacate After Notice, with a District Court appearance date. We cannot assist in removing the tenant or their belongings!
Under extreme, confirmed circumstances, deputies will deliver emergency messages to family members or check on the welfare of elderly and juvenile persons. We will not, however, relay messages or act as a "mediator" for divorce/custody matters or as a harassment tool! Any abuse of this system can result in the offending person(s) being charged criminally.
Garland County Sheriff's Office does have a noise ordinance. In order to act on this ordinance, we have to have a complainant that is willing to file a report and press charges. This will require you to attend court appearances and follow through with any and all stipulations ordered by the Court.
Garland County Sheriff's Office has contracted with Hot Springs Animal Control to provide for the pick up and removal of vicious and stray dogs, cats and other animals, under very specific guidelines and hours. The Sheriff’s Office serves as a point of contact to relay calls to Animal Control and they are responsible for retrieving said animals. The Sheriff’s Office does not pick up, or attempt to find and locate, any vicious, injured or stray animals.
If you are involved in a domestic situation, that requires a Deputy response, we will stand by for a few minutes so that you can retrieve a few changes of clothes and personal hygiene items. We cannot assist or stand-by while you gather property items, without an Order from a Judge of Jurisdiction directing us to do so. Further, we cannot interfere, intervene or assist in any child custody or visitation matters without an Order from a Judge of Jurisdiction.
Unless it is an emergency, you will not be able to make personal calls to your son/daughter or leave a message while they are in detention. All calls from detention are made from the dayroom collect phones. Youth may call approved numbers during their free time.
All youth must attend school in detention unless they have graduated or have their GED. If you would like to pick up your son/daughter assignments and books from their home school, you may do so. If you have any questions, you may contact the classroom at 501-622-3647.
We do not accept “over the counter medication”. We provide Tylenol, cough syrup, etc. If your son/daughter is taking prescribed medication, the medication must be in the original prescription bottle. If the dosage amount is different than what is on the prescription bottle, we need written instruction from the doctor.
Visitation hours are Sunday from Noon to 3 p.m. and Wednesday from 5 to 8 p.m.
Only parents, legal guardian, grandparents and brothers/sisters may visit.
The garland county quorum court passed Ordinance No. 0-16-86, also known as the “Voluntary Animal Care and Shelter Tax” which levies a voluntary tax of $10 to be billed on the current tax bill.
It is completely optional, but if you wish to pay all or any portion of the voluntary tax, please make the notation on your tax bill.